Feeling and doing better after giving up alcohol

I quit using alcohol on August 23, 2018 when the results of a massive Global Burden of Disease study showed that the safest level of drinking is none. Since that day – 668 days ago – I’ve saved more than $7,100 and have gained 1,528 hours in productive time. If you go by the numbers generated by my ‘Nomo’ sobriety counter. Which sound about right.

What have I done with the ‘extra’ couple of hours per day? Not spending two hours per day either drinking or recovering from the fatigue and lethargy associated with drinking, has been an unexpected bonus. I’m spending a lot more time walking with my wife and dog, more time doing strength exercises and more time baking and cooking. A new hobby which takes up quite a bit of time and care is baking sourdough bread. Having started my own sourdough starter from scratch to now maintaining it, feeding it every day and then baking two or three loaves every few days, is a time-consuming yet satisfying pursuit. It’s enjoyable though and I’m giving away loaves to family, friends, co-runners, neighbors and the like, which makes one feel good and useful.

 

img_1279

Not using alcohol has improved my sleep immeasurably, I’m less prone to irritation and frustration, and life is generally better with fewer ups and downs, irrespective of circumstances beyond one’s control. Waking up with a fresh, clear mind every day is the biggest bonus of all. No more hangovers, ever!

Sobriety affects so many aspects of one’s life: my personal relationships, general demeanor, ability to listen, empathy, understanding of the feelings of others, creativity, energy – there are no negatives.

The one major change I anticipated but which did not materialize? Weight loss. Despite running about 25 to 30 miles per week, plus about 5 hours per week of strength exercises, my weight hovers around 175 lbs which is a good 15 lbs more than I would like it to be.

So with immediate effect I will resume a ‘No S’ diet routine which stands for no snacking, no sweets, and no seconds on all days except days starting with ‘S’. Being Saturday and Sunday. No need for elaborate calorie counting or obsessive fasting. Just a sensible, low maintenance way of curbing mindless eating during the week and avoiding the inevitable result of snacking and overeating.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment